Neil’s Quick and Easy Marinated Olives

I, like my family, share a love of olives. I have no idea where this love comes from but every gathering, meal & party I can guarantee you the host will have a massive bowl they knocked up on the go somewhere sitting next to a bowl of Aioli.

I used to find myself every weekend bee-lining for the deli counter at my local supermarket and grabbing a pot or two of their own and it wasn’t until I was eating said supermarket marinated olives that the penny dropped and thought I can make these
myself…. so here it is my own concoction.

These are perfect to serve for any occasion and I can promise your friends and family won’t believe you made them yourself, and if you like them as much as I do, you won’t actually want to share!

The beauty with these is that you really can do your own thing, if you don’t like rosemary maybe thrown in some fresh thyme or oregano. Don’t like lemon? Maybe try some orange zest & I have even used goats cheese in the marinade before but I’ll add this version at a later time.

Feeds 2 and can be doubled/tripled and so on…
Effort 1/5
Prep time 10 mins plus marinating ideally 24 hours
Cook time 0 mins

Ingredients:-
80g cheap jarred green, black or mixed olives (personal choice here)
1 Rosemary sprig, leaves crushed
2 garlic cloves pealed and smashed
Chilli flakes to taste
Lemon rind from half a lemon
Olive oil enough to partially cover your olives

Tools:-
Citrus zester or microplane grater

Method:-
Empty olives into a sieve to drain off any excess brine/liquid.

Place olives into a shallow bowl or sealable Tupperware container.

Crush the rosemary leaves lightly under the flat of a knife or in a pestle and mortar, add these to the olives along with the lemon rind, crushed garlic and chilli flakes depending on the level of heat you like.

Half cover the olives with olive oil, give a good shake and place in the fridge or a cool place to marinate for 24 hours. Take them out for a good mix every few hours or so if you can but no real loss if not.

If you want to make for that day, a few hours marinating will still give you a good flavour just be sure to mix them around more frequently to release all of the flavours into the oil.

Tip into a serving bowl and enjoy.

Leave a Reply

